PDA

View Full Version : Just starting to mod

Nighthawk
05-03-2002, 06:22 AM
Hey guys,

I've had my 1987 LX-i HB (92K) for two years now, and I've finally got some money to spend on her. She's completely stock, but she's in better shape now than when I bought her. I've rechaged the AC, flushed the radiator & tranny, got the brakes done, and got new front suspension bushings (supposedly they were completely shot) with an alignment.

What do you think I should do to improve my car? I'm more interested in mechanical stuff at this point, since she looks pretty decent cosmetically.

I'm not a mechanic, but I've learned a lot about cars (much of it from 3geez!) over the last two years. I'm a technical person (computers), so I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty, but I don't want to make my car unsafe or undriveable. I wouldn't mind having a shop do the work if it's difficult or dangerous.

What do you guys think? Where should I start? I was thinking about getting the disc brake conversion done, but I'd have to go find a junked SE-i. Do you think suspension work is in order?

Let me know what you think.

--Nighthawk

Sabz5150
05-03-2002, 06:37 AM
What do you guys think? Where should I start? I was thinking about getting the disc brake conversion done, but I'd have to go find a junked SE-i. Do you think suspension work is in order?

Less suspension work, more brake work on that one. Since you own an '87, you'll need a lot more than the discs and arms... you'll also need the master cylinder, the proportioner, and the front brake discs and calipers.

The suspension (struts/springs) shouldn't have to be bothered... you're only replacing the rear control arms and not the whole setup.

... and yes, the only way to do this is to find a junked SE-i. There was one at my local yard and I was an idiot and passed it up :crying: