PDA

View Full Version : Hi I am the nooby

conechaser
07-10-2004, 07:11 AM
Well I never thought I would own a Honda but now I do.
Unfortunately it is due to the fact that the engine is siezed. It is an 89 lx 2.0 carb.
I am Chris I am an avid autocrosser and I have two sons about to get their licenses. I drve my 86 MR2 daily and to autocross so the Honda will probably go to my Kids when I get it running again. Any thoughts on if I should stick with the a20a1 or swap something else in its place would be helpful. I am a technician by trade and all work will be done by me. Oh yeah it also has an automatic trans but that should be fine for two new drivers for now.
Well I look forward to talking to you all from time to time, so till then nice to be a part of your family

od2681
07-10-2004, 07:58 AM
welcome to the board
its good to have experienced people here...and there are a lot of em
there is info on the site bout motors and such. Just gota look around
nice to have you aboard...

A20A1
07-10-2004, 09:50 AM
Welcome

Sweet, I've been wondering if an auto would enter into an autocross... when you finally do race the accord you might want to try and lock the throttle value lever in it's up-most position a few milimeters from the top so the trans stays in the lowest gear possible and keeps your revs from droping, it may take some adjustments and getting used to though.

pimp86LX
07-10-2004, 09:54 AM
throw a webber carb on there too, the a20a1 is still a good engine.

btw, welcome to the board! Its nice to know that not all members are 16-20 ;)

Mike's89AccordLX
07-10-2004, 10:08 AM
Hey I'm 20 and am a mechanic so not all people are dumb when they are in that range :)

I have an 89 LX 5speed. I have the A20A1 that is modded pretty well and I think you should stick with that motor or do an efi swap if you don't have a lot of money to put an really nice Honda motor into it.

You can check out my cardomain site to know more info and pics of my car.

-Mike

pimp86LX