PDA

View Full Version : Carb off, just have a few clarifying Q's

bc86
07-15-2004, 05:15 PM
Ok, the carb is off. I just want to identify a few things b4 I install the new one.

First: A line which has Coolant in it... Is this normal? Its new the back, between firewall and carb, down near the bottom. Looks like the line runs under under the carb, leading towards the front. Couldnt tell u much more about it, as I am no mechanic.

Second: Lets say u took your carb off, and reached around behind the motor, down beside the oil filter, there appears to be a black foam sort of box there, what is that??

Third: Im having heating probs, and Im wondering if I may have found the/a problem. Underneath that black foamy box, there is grease/oil, but its kinda green. How I can tell its green, Im guessin some got onto my drive shaft, and it has spit up abit onto my firewall, probably right in the middle, and it has a green color to it. Not light green, but a dark dark green. Doesnt smell like coolant, and there is no oil in my coolant, and no coolant in my oil....

Fourth: Now that im inside, I cant remember which hose it was exaclty coming out of my carb, but it appeared to have oil in it... Is that normal? Im assuming all lines should only have air, aside from the fuel lines.

Thx for the help

Wipeout
07-15-2004, 07:12 PM
I'm new to Hondas but the line with coolant in it is normal. It's the manifold heater, and (I think) helps fuel atomization in cold temperatures.

bc86
07-15-2004, 07:20 PM
Ok, excellent, just curious to y there would b coolant entering the carb...

Wipeout
07-15-2004, 07:32 PM
Yeah, on some cars the manifold heater is a pain in the rear, but it looks pretty simple on my Accord. I'm putting a Cadillac 4.9L into my Fiero and even though that's fuel injected it still has coolant running through the throttle body. I haven't hooked that up yet, though.

Oh yeah, and if you ever think your Honda is hard to work on.... try a 4.9L Fiero. lol

bc86