PDA

View Full Version : Advise with lowering my Accord

88Accord-DX
07-29-2004, 12:28 AM
I'm a mechanic, but suspesion is not my specialty. I have a few questions with lowering my 88 Honda Accord. First of all, I won these lowering springs off of ebay. Check em' out http://suspensionmax.com/dvc00054.jpg . Can I get away without using a camber kit on the front? I know the rear isn't much an issue. What is the drop limit without using one? I've heard 1.5" from work, what you guys think? I'm going to see if I can go with 2" drop all the way around, but these have a 2.5" drop for the front. Going to see if they will send me just 2" drop springs. I plan on getting some monroe shocks and struts or equal. I can't afford them TOKICO struts and shocks, I have a baby on the way.
I have these stock 13" rims on it at the moment, kind of worried my exhaust my get some road rash :sad2: . Can you guys let me know how bad I need a camber kit and the cheapest link to get one at? Guy I work with said something about putting a Prelude control arm on it. (told him "right") Any advise I might not be asking would be helpfull too. Much Appreciated ! :help:

SteveDX89
07-29-2004, 02:14 AM
You are definitely going to need some kind of camber correction. You can use the Prelude front upper control arms but they might not have enough adjustment. I have them on my car and they're set all the way out and I still have a little bit of negative camber. It's within Honda spec so it's no biggie. In the back, I used the washer trick. Basically, you just stick some washers between the upper arm and where it bolts onto the car. Make sure you're saving for better shocks though. Those Monroes won't handle it and you're ride is gonna be bouncy. They're gonna blow much faster as well.

88Accord-DX
07-29-2004, 03:16 AM