PDA

View Full Version : Antifreeze in Power Steering reservoir

Locutus
08-06-2004, 01:57 PM
I inhierited this mess from my brother. It is a 89 Honda Accord with a fresh rebuild recently installed. Working out the kinks was dumped in my lap. It is boiling antifreeze out of the power steering reservoir. I assume there is a crossed hose somewhere but have no clue where. Is there is a diagram that shows the routing of all these hoses. I have little experience with hondas but lots of experience with chevy small blocks. Are there any other gotchas I should as well.

Mike

'89AccordLX(Rus)
08-06-2004, 03:35 PM
Visit http://www.pauldesign.ru/ There is an electronic .pdf version of the shop manual available on that site that will tell you everything you may want to know about your car. Check in the radiator area for misrouted hoses. There is a P/S fluid cooling pipe running in front of the radiator. Looks like a long horizontal U. Are you sure its antifreeze and not water? Try changing the fluid. Disconnect the return hose from the P/S fluid reservoir and let the fluid drain while the engine is on and someone is turning the wheels. Try to do this on jack stands if possible, or maybe on a slick surface since that would put less strain on the mechanisms. Once there is no more fluid, reconnect the hose and top off the reservoir. Run the engine again and turn the wheels side to side (all the way) to work the air out of the system. I think it is nealy impossible to misrout the lines. They are different sizes and one would have to be blind to mistake P/S hose for a coolant hose (at least on this car).

Locutus
08-06-2004, 06:02 PM
I am very sure it is antifreeze it is green and very sweet smelling

HondaBoy
08-06-2004, 07:10 PM
uh, is it me or was the P/S fluid green? it was in the last few accords i've seen. also, my bottle of P/S fluid has green fluid in it. lol. P/S fluid is green! ours is anyway.

Locutus
08-06-2004, 07:18 PM