PDA

View Full Version : Question about strange Idling problems

maestro
08-31-2004, 12:02 PM
Hey, this is my first time posting to this message board, and i apologize if this question has been asked before, but i didn't really see anyone post a question like mines,
so i had my 88 Accord Lx for over a year now and it's been my baby thru thick and thin, i had it's clutch and transmission replaced, and two new tires put on it, and just recently had it's ball joints and a control arm replaced.
But there's been one minor problem that's been bugging me for a long time, whenever i start it up when i haven't started it in several hours, it idles up to about 2500rpm and gradually increases to about 3000rpm...
Then when i let it run for about a minute or so i tap the gas pedal and it lowers back down to about 2200rpm. Then, when i starting driving it lowers back down and sounds normal until i come to a stop, and then it idles back up high again, probably to about 2200rpm again. So when i drive for about 5 minutes, it idles to about 1000rpm to 800rpm and it seems normal.
Ok, now when i drive on the highway across town for about 20 minutes and come to the exit i want get on and come back to a stop, it idles down really low. It would initially start off about 800rpm and then it would drop down to about 400rpm. Then when i am driving through residential areas, where i have to frequently stop and stop signs and stop lights, it would sometimes idle down to 200rpm! On few occasions, it would idle down so low that it would shut off and i have to start it back up!

I am not that good with cars so could someone tell me if this is normal or not and what can i do to eliminate this problem...do i have to let my car warm up for a while before i drive it? And i also notice that this problem happens more frequently when it is either raining or it is mild or cool outside.

accordlxi2.0
08-31-2004, 12:12 PM