PDA

View Full Version : Charging Light / Choke Heater

Andy
11-09-2004, 05:10 PM
Please somebody help....I've been battling this puzzle for about 2 years. I have a 88 Accord LX carb. The car has 301K on it now.

I replaced the piston rings and head gasket at 250K. After putting everything back together again (it took a month or two since I had never done anything like that before), I had a charging warning light and the idle would stick around 2000. The dealership told me that the carb needed to be replaced. I replaced the carb and surprise no help.

Going through the Honda manual it basiclly says to disconnect the various components off the harness line (efe heater, choke heater). With the choke heater disconnected the light goes out. The orginal carb plus the 2 rebuilt carbs all give the charging light. I gave up replacing the carb because I found it hard to believe there was a short in that many choke heaters, even though the manual leads you down that path.

I've read the various posts about the choke heaters and measured the current going to the choke heater and it was .1 A on 10 A and approx 90 some milliA on the lower scale. It was a steady current (hot engine) with no variations. The resitance across the choke heater is about 8 ohms. There is 14 volts on the harness side.

The problem with the idle sticking at 2000 is worse in the winter. Last winter sometimes I would spend 5 or 10 minutes to get the idle down so I could turn the car off without dieseling.

Thanks for any help Andy

EvilPenciler
11-10-2004, 06:47 AM
when its idleing at 2grand is it running hard?

Andy
11-10-2004, 04:42 PM
Not sure what you mean by running hard. Its obviously fast but its still smooth. Connecting or disconnecting the choke heater wire has no discernable difference in idle or performance with the exception that the charghing light goes out with the wire disconnected.

EvilPenciler
11-10-2004, 08:21 PM