PDA

View Full Version : Help, New on the Scene...Advice??

MyGarbageLXi
07-31-2002, 04:33 PM
Hey im new to the scene of suspension, and i just a bought a set of tech 5 lowering springs and i want to put them on the car,
can someone tell me the diff from Shocks, springs, and struts. im all confused... also... when puttintg on these new springs am i going to NEED to replace the Struts, controlarms shocks or anything along those lines??? and when i take the old springs off will i have to disassble any of thosse things??? im not sure how it all works and ihavent really taken A good look at it all, please help and answer all or as many of these questions as u can thanks

pimp86LX
07-31-2002, 04:46 PM
well there are the regular suspension guru's around but i'd first ask how much of a drop those springs are. and you will probably need new shocks depending drop..(i think) or you could revalve them to be stiffer but i think that costs more

if you go further than 1.5" you will need a camber correction kit or some 2g prelude control arms

thats all i know

bye

Chrome_thangs
07-31-2002, 09:41 PM
There's a very helpfull post on this in the "how to" section!!:lol

AZmike
07-31-2002, 11:23 PM
Since your lowering springs are (or should be, at least) stiffer than stock your strut choices are really limited:

softest to stiffest (i think):
Bilstein $70??/each
Tokico ~$70/each
Koni ~$110/each
revalved Bilstein ~$130?/each

The front springs are typically much stiffer than the rears so you'll probably want the Konis or better up front to prevent the bounce that you'd get with an underdamped system (soft struts with stiff springs). You have more choices for the rear if you want to save money, but the posts I've read from people that got Konis all around were positive.