PDA

View Full Version : Auto Body Guys!! HELP!!

86LXItooFAST4me
01-08-2005, 04:20 PM
this is my problem:
http://www.hondaautomotiveparts.com/catimgs/13SE00_G05.gif

i bought this car and basically i have to replace #4

so ive got the enitre front end stipped down and i was pring it off and seeing how it was atatched and i see that its spot welded. what steps do i need to do to take this off? do i need to apply heat or is there a special tool? also how do i install the new one. do i just use a regular welder? tig welder? how does this work?

A20A1
01-08-2005, 04:43 PM
tig would be nice, I've never tried to spot weld parts together permanently.. only to hold the parts in place to weld thm later.

you might have to grind / drill it ( might want to add a drill stop so you only drill thru the top layer of metal ), but I've never tried it before so don't listen to me.

Vanilla Sky
01-08-2005, 04:47 PM
there's a special tool...

http://www.eastwood.com/jump.jsp?itemID=873&itemType=CATEGORY&iMainCat=483&iSubCat=873

there's a link to a place to get a couple varieties of them

by the way, there are spot welders, too... i would recommend getting one...

A20A1
01-08-2005, 04:56 PM

http://www.eastwood.com/jump.jsp?itemID=873&itemType=CATEGORY&iMainCat=483&iSubCat=873

kewl nice find vanilla, maybe I'm just old school with a drill bit and drill stop. :D

Yeah I guess the Tig is a bit much, and more permanent then the Spot... but who want's to repair the front end more then once?

HondaBoy
01-08-2005, 04:59 PM
so the radiator support thing is spot welded on? i didnt know that. are you sure you can handle this? if you have any doubts, i'd say see if you can find someone to do it. the only thing i might worry about is getting it back on strait. dont know if you'd want to tack weld on a support between the left and right until you put the new piece in. really, if you take your time, i'm sure you can get it done right.

86LXItooFAST4me
01-08-2005, 10:48 PM