PDA

View Full Version : engine cuts out then stalls when driving.... HELP

hootymo
01-16-2005, 04:26 PM
hi, i have an 87 accord carbureted. starts up fine, runs fine, but first when i come to stop lights she idles really low and almost stalls. also, when driving like above 40 in 4th or 5th gear it starts to sputter and then i try to give it gas and all it does it sit there, then i take it out of gear and let it into neutral and it stalls. then i try to restart it and it takes 30 seconds to a minute of cranking to get it started again... what on earth could this be? its pretty cold around here, 20 degrees average. i am really new to carbs and have no idea if its the carb or what it is, but its bad. i cant even drive the car now because anytime i go over 40 or cruise steady for awhile it just starts sputtering and cutting out, then cuts off completely and wont restart. please help. thanks!

A20A1
01-16-2005, 04:45 PM
Fuel pump could be giving out... or your fuel filters ( there are 2 of them ) are clogged.

There is also a solenoid bolted the the back of the carburetor... I beleive it's called the primary slow mixture cut-off solenoid
This solenoid needs to have power when the car is running or you wont get enough fuel.

Remove the lid of the air cleaner and also the metal gold colored screen that is held down by two bolts... warm the car up fully. The temp needle should read normal operating temp... or wait for the radiator fan to come on at least once... that may or may not happen in the winter though with the car at idle.

Anyways once it's warmed up fully check to see that the choke plate isn't closed.
also lift the air cleaner off of the carburetor slightly and check the fuel level in the float window.

A20A1
01-16-2005, 05:21 PM
Here are some threads to look at.

http://www.3geez.com/showthread.php?t=38108

http://www.3geez.com/showthread.php?t=5350

http://www.3geez.com/showthread.php?t=8972

hootymo
01-16-2005, 08:35 PM