PDA

View Full Version : help wiring subs

Neuspeed87lx
02-04-2005, 05:44 PM
i need to know how to wire my subs .... i have 2 kicker comp vr 15 inch subs ... 4ohm each ... the amp that will be powering the subs is a XM-D400P5 sony mono 800 watt amp.... i need to put the subs in the box and thats what i need help wiring ... there are 2 negaitve posts and 2 positive posts on the back of each sub... thanks

88accordalltheway
02-04-2005, 05:52 PM
if i were you, for starters, just hook all the positives(on the subs) to the positive output on the amp, and same with the negatives. I am a noob when it comes to ohms/impedence/resistance, and ive had my friends explain them to me many times, and despite the fact that im in calculus i still dont get them. I have a friend that likes to do crazy ass wireing, from sub to sub then to the amp. I dunno, check sounddomain....

Roach412
02-04-2005, 06:15 PM
that amp is stable down to 2-ohms. with two 4-ohm subs, it's pretty easy to wire them to be run in 2-ohm.

basically...the lower the ohms are the harder your amp works to keep up. BUT, because it's a lower impedange (ohms) it allows the amplifier to supply MORE power! (watts)

http://www.termpro.com/articles/spkrz.html

that site gives details about the difference of wiring "in series" and "in parallel". by wiring your subs "in parallel" you'll be setting the impedance to 2-ohms, and driving your subs with the most power available.

i have a dual-voice-coil 10" eclipse sub being driven by a memphis mono amp. i have each voice coil (2 connectors +, -, per voice coil) wiring in parallel with the other. this makes my amp "see" a 2-ohm load, and delivers twice the wattage than if i were to just hook it up directly to the terminals. makes a HUGE difference in performance (both dB and quality)

hope that site helps out. they do have diagrams, but are a little small.

-Roach

p.s. think of it this way: