PDA

View Full Version : Is it the transmission?

slowsixtyseven
03-18-2005, 12:46 PM
WEll, im new to this whole Honda thing, so please bare with me. I just picked up an 88 Accord LX-i. Im wondering how loud the whining of the gears should be? reverse is really loud and whinny, and 5th can get kinda bad, especially when you push on the gas. The other gears are a little noisy, but you really have to listen for it. I went to check the fluid level today but couldnt get the filler bolt off. Any ideas on how i should go about doing this? heat it up w/ a torch, etc? Im guessing either the trans is going, or it has no fluid? any help is appreciated on what might be going on or symptoms of a bad trans. Thanks alot! Chris
PS- is there a filler hole that accepts trans fluid, and what type should i use? :dunno:

POS carb
03-18-2005, 03:43 PM
i always fill the tranny through the top through the power steering slash speedo cable device in the back, it's holding on with no bolt (yours will have a 10mm bolt on it)

when I had the auto tranny on my car I couldn't get the bolt off so I got a brick, a jack, and a 3/8-drive craftsman ratchet with no attachments

put the ratchet on the bolt. set the ratchet to the "loosen" mode (most important step!!) and position it so that the handle is facing the front of the car. hold it so that it doesn't ratchet down and quickly position the jack under the handle from the front of the car and start jacking it up. if the car gets more than 2 or 3 inches off the ground without it budging (you'll hear a crack sound) then move to the next step (don't go any higher because when the bolt goes the car will fall on the extended jack)