PDA

View Full Version : no power till 3000 rpm

cedarjunki
03-21-2005, 02:42 PM
please can anyone tell me why. 89 lxi 5 speed stick, ill take off mat it to the floor and has absolutely no power until it hits 3000 rpms then it will smoke the tires, 2nd gear looses power until i hit 3500 rpms then it takes off again. any help, i havent found any answers yet and im getting ready to junk it. oh its completely stock also, ive only had a couple of months now. thanks

(rpms will slowly rise then all of a sudden its redlined)

keruhas184
03-21-2005, 03:39 PM
You mean by no power that it doesn't move, or just not enough to press you into the seat? The powerband for our cars is 3k - 5.5k rpm, so what you describe is in a sense normal. But if the car hardly moves before 3k, then you may have a problem.

cedarjunki
03-21-2005, 05:37 PM
well im new to these little 4 bangers but if i had to move out of the way in a hurry i would be creamed before i could get out of the way

smufguy
03-21-2005, 07:37 PM
well see if your distributor is retarded all the way, if it is, put it back or have it 5deg advanced.

Does it stumble as it goes up to 3k? if it does that, u could be running too rich and ur O2 sensor might be going bad.

cedarjunki
03-22-2005, 03:17 AM
it doesnt really stumble before 3000 rpms its like it holds back and releases all at once. but it kinda spudders running in 4th and 5th normal speeds. kinda like water in gas.

shepherd79
03-22-2005, 07:15 AM
sounds like you need to do tune up.
plug, wires, distributor cap and rotor, and make sure you chance O2 sensor as well.
the easy thing you can check is ECU for any codes. it is under the driver seat. Look from behind, you will find a small window. start the car and see if the light is blinking. If it is blinking, count the number of blinks.

smufguy
03-22-2005, 07:40 AM