PDA

View Full Version : Valve Seal Help!

syclinsam
05-12-2005, 12:44 PM
I want to do a valve seal job on my 86 lxi. I've never done valve seals before. I have an idea but not really confident to approach it without better instruction.

I've searched and searched the forums and found tips and tricks for doing it but no How To or step by step instruction. I did check the manuel and it requires taking the head off. From what I have read on the site most of the 3gr's have done it without removing the head.

It would be awesome if someone could post a step by step, How To on a valve seal job without removing the head.

Pics would be the best but just a step by step with instructions on what to look out for would be sweet.

If i missed the thread please let me know but I have searched for a while with no luck.

thanks in advance for any help or further direction

POS carb
05-12-2005, 01:42 PM
well I dunno, i've never done it either but I would think you'd need to come up with a way to keep the valves from falling into the cylinder once you take the valvetrain apart first of all, you can put it to TDC and work on cyl #1 and #4 to avoid this and rotate the engine to do #2 and # 3, this is assuming the piston comes close enough to hold it up of course.
my 2¢

AccordEpicenter
05-12-2005, 03:33 PM
use compressed air thru the spark plug hole to hold the valve in place when you take off the spring. The valve seals you have to cut off carefully with some pliers and tap the new ones on. Id also do what POS carb is saying so the valves wont go very far if they do fall

acranox
05-12-2005, 04:04 PM
You'd be better off removing the head so you can do a complete job. That way you can inspect the valve seats and faces.
Also, if you have oil leaking down the valve guides you almost certainly have sludge or carbon buildup on the back of the valve head, and that should be cleaned off. which will require you to remove the head.

shepherd79
05-12-2005, 06:36 PM