PDA

View Full Version : how do you know if youve got bad engine mounts?

newaccorddriver
06-16-2005, 08:34 PM
as the topic says...

im not completely sure if the harsh shift between first and second gear is all about the transmission as my friend told me my engine moves too much while shifting out of park. hes no mechanic and im no mechanic either(trying to find a first year job), but is it possible that bad mounts can lead to harsh shifts?

paso100
06-16-2005, 09:05 PM
I don't think so.
When my mounts went bad, my car had a bad vibration felt in the dash and steering wheel, especially in D (automatic) during idle. The vibration lessened when put in P or N.

Check the rubber on your mounts, try moving them with a tool that won't gouge the rubber and look for cracks with a flashlight. Sometimes the rubber will split in two.

DO NOT BUY AFTERMARKET MOUNTS. I learned this the hard way. After installing them my vibration was worse; the rubber is harder the OE and tolerances are off.

If you're going to replace one, you might as well replace all 3 major mounts: front, driver's side, rear mount. I went ahead and replaced the donut style transmission mount, the bottom trans. buffer, and the torque rod mount bushings, just for peace of mind.

Also, the factory manual specifies you tighten mounts in a very specific sequence and torque settings, or you MAY experience vibration.

Check it out:
The main mounts are 2,3,8.
http://www.hondaautomotiveparts.com/auto/jsp/mws/prddisplay.jsp?inputstate=5&catcgry1=Accord&catcgry2=1988&catcgry3=4DR+LXI&catcgry4=KL4AT&catcgry5=ENGINE+MOUNT

newaccorddriver
06-16-2005, 09:43 PM
thats somewhat exactly what im feeling paso, so ill check them out.

would the mounts have an effect on gear shifting cause tahts wheni feel the most vibration

newaccorddriver
06-16-2005, 09:44 PM
almost forgot, is it expensive to replace these mounts? part cost, not including labor :)

paso100
06-16-2005, 09:57 PM