PDA

View Full Version : ATTN: PhydeauX.....

88LXi68
05-05-2002, 04:55 PM
Hey,
Do you remember me sending you those pics of the dual SK Racing Carbs?? Well, I just purchased a 88 DX hatch and was wondering if they would work on it? Is the intake manifold the same as the prelude one? please let me know cause I have an LXi and I am new to the carbed stuff.

Steve

PhydeauX
05-05-2002, 07:26 PM
That manifold wont work, you'll have to make one. Putting the carbs on there should make it a fun car though. Since you have the lx-i you can always take your time and play with the dx, if your going to put side drafts on there you'll definitely need a back up car, its not a conversion that gets done in a day. I don't think I have made an update on my project recently. I was trying to adapt a b16a 2xDCOE manifold to fit my a20a, didn't quite work out. The manifold will fit on there fine, but the carbs tip up almost 20 degrees, they have to sit level to work right. I was trying to adjust the manifold, but due to some poor workmanship on the part of the guy that made the manifold I decided to scrap it. The flange he made was below my standard, one port was badly mishapen and another was off by about 3-4mm. I'm now trying to make one. They are pretty strait forward to make. They way I'm going about it is to get an old carbed manifold from a junkyard can cut the flange off. I found a place online that sells precut aluminum dcoe flanges so I am ordering a pair of them, $45 a piece for the flanges ouch. That takes care of both sides of the manifold. Then I'm going to take a piece of thick walled aluminum tube and bang it into the shape of some runners. A friend of mine is a certified welder and has access to a good TIG welding rig so I am going to take all the parts to him and have him put the whole thing together.