PDA

View Full Version : tore apart my b20 tranny!!

adams86lxi
09-27-2005, 04:11 PM
Well i tore my tranny apart about a week or so ago. And dissasembled only the main shaft stack and actually didnt really see anything visible that the syncros were screwed up?? I havent tore apart the countershaft yet but i only see 3 sets of syncros total. Does anyone know which set of syncros has the syncro that would be bad since my third gear was screwed up??? I would replace all of them but i cant find a transmission shop that will help me figure out if i can find a usdm match for them and the only place i know of to get them directly from honda in japan wants like 300$ for the 3 sets!!!

carotman
09-27-2005, 04:18 PM
Hmmm, the trannies are the only mechanical part that I'm a total newbie. Transmissions are a magical box hehe.

I planned to rebuild a spare B20A tranny with the new bearings I have here but this may take a while and you need your car faster than I could help.

Have you checked the part numbers and diagrams I posted in the FAQ? If you compare the diagrams with an A20A tranny, you might find which one is the 3rd gear.

adams86lxi
09-27-2005, 06:35 PM
Hmmm, the trannies are the only mechanical part that I'm a total newbie. Transmissions are a magical box hehe.

I planned to rebuild a spare B20A tranny with the new bearings I have here but this may take a while and you need your car faster than I could help.

Have you checked the part numbers and diagrams I posted in the FAQ? If you compare the diagrams with an A20A tranny, you might find which one is the 3rd gear.

hmm, i already got the part numbers for the 3 sycncros that the transmission has from your diagrams:

Mainshaft:
> 23623-pg1-770 JPY 12700
> 23626-pg1-771 JPY 9050

countershaft
> 23521-pg1-325 JPY 10200

BTW: those are the prices in yen for the parts before shipping from the only place i know i can find them from.

Hey carotman where is the diagram for the A20A tranny?

Legend_master
09-27-2005, 06:47 PM