PDA

View Full Version : How is it to have a car in a third world country.

Mario Calero
11-14-2005, 12:25 PM
Well, this is not exactly a question nor a technical issue, it’s just a story, my personal story.

I’m 31 years old now, I bought my first and only car last December 4th, a Honda accord third gen, I live in a country where most people does not have a car ever, 75% doesn’t even have a job, of course there are rich people driving the car of the year, they are the 3% of the people. I represent the working people ( 22%), I support 9 people ( relatives mostly ) they are from the unemployed 75%.

I’m a system analyst, I work with computers, even though I managed to buy I car at the age of 31, a used one, I know for sure this is going to be the only one car in my lifetime. Some people here get to buy a car and have it sometime but then something urgent happens and they sell it and never get it back. Most people have to travel illegally to Costa Rica or USA to look for a job and a better life, if they get it, they won’t get back ever. I’m ok with my hard earned $700 a month. I won’t go anywhere, I’d like to visit USA sometime but never leave my country. I already have a brother living in Seattle, he escaped from civil War, he’s fine now but he works for himself, he doesn’t help us, he changed, he was very poor here but when he made it, he forgot about it.