PDA

View Full Version : Fuel pressure?

89accordex4dr
11-18-2005, 04:46 AM
What's the max pressure can our factory carby handle and what happens if there's to much pressure?

StressSolutions
11-18-2005, 03:20 PM
I'm no expert, but logic tells me that the carb will handle all the pressure the fuel pump gives it. If the carb were to get too much pressure, it could rupture a gasket...I assume these cute little carbs come apart similar to the 66 Ford I used to drive around...

I'm curious to know why you are asking such a question...are you thinking of using a diesel injector pump to supply your carb? Whee...

Oldblueaccord
11-18-2005, 05:15 PM
What's the max pressure can our factory carby handle and what happens if there's to much pressure?

Most carbs fuel will push past the needle and seat with to much fuel pressure. What the pressure is on a honda carb I have no idea. I have heard of people running 6-8 psi on like a Holley carb.

wp

lostforawhile
11-18-2005, 05:42 PM
they run at 3-4 psi if you put much more through there it will leak past the needle and seat,probably ruin them,and flood your carb this could also set your car on fire. I run a holly regulator and a digital fuel pressure gauge,i'm running the regulator to smooth out the fuel pressure spikes. this is normal pressure for most carbs,what you need for a bigger carb is not more pressure,but a pump that will deliver more fuel quantity. all it has to do is fill the fuel bowl,nothing else. I had to order my regulator special for that low of a presssure,thats factory spec.

89accordex4dr
11-19-2005, 05:00 AM
I was thinkin about a hot cam and havin more fuel pressure to feed the cam, probly get a bigger carby next

lostforawhile
11-19-2005, 05:19 AM