PDA

View Full Version : Engine To dO's

phatphipps86
08-17-2002, 09:29 PM
ok, few questions. First ima tell ya right off i am not a pro at cars or engines, by far i might ad. anyways i am doin some mods and stuf to my engine, i was wonderin about the small filters you can buy that tie on to the engine where the air intake thing is. what the purpose for this and what do i gain from it.

http://www.quickclic.net/~coaster/i1.html im talking about the filter right above the H emblem.

also what do i gain by adding a accel coil.

last but not least how in the hell do i adjust my carb. my car sits and has a putting effect when it is ideling. aslo sometimes the high rpm idel doesnt seem to disengage after the car has been on for a bit. i have to tap the gas for it to idel low. how could i fix this.

pimp86LX
08-17-2002, 10:04 PM
is that the pcv return with that lil filter on? weird,

night
08-17-2002, 10:07 PM
hittin the gas to knock the idle down is the way it is supposed to be.

dont get those little filters they are not good for the engine.

a coil alone will not give you much of anything. not likely to be even noticeable

carobotics
08-18-2002, 12:47 PM
k, that little filter, not entirely sure, but I think it adds an even more unrestricted way of venting crankcase gases. It just puts it strait out to the atmosphere instead of sending it through the intake to get burned again.