PDA

View Full Version : steering rack

89se-i
12-16-2005, 12:58 PM
How are you guys doing?

Im a newbie to the forums, but not a newbie to cars. You can find me on nissanclub, under "nocoastmusic".

Anyways, need some advice.

The other day i ran my accord [89 se-i coupe] into a curb [to spare the details, it was a curb, a lightpost, or a civic. ] hit the drivers side front wheel.

So now the steering is messed up. I can turn the wheel fine to the right, but its difficult to get it to go left. So I got it up on stands today. I found that the lower control arm on the passengers side front, is bent. So i thought that could be why I was having the steering problem. So i disconnected the tie rod on the passneger side and it was still hard to turn right, so i disconnected the other tierod and it was still ahrd to turn. So I came to the conclusion that i need a new rack. Any other opinions?

Anyone ever replace a rack on these cars?

Thanks. Sorry if this has been discussed but i searched and didnt really find anything. Also i apologize if i forgot any details.

Thanks in advance.

lionel
12-16-2005, 03:55 PM
Steering problems can be caused by damaged suspension components:
a while ago somebody hit me from the left into my right front wheel. Damages were certainly more than what you got, but just to give you an idea, below are the parts I had to replace in order to have the car fixed with a correct wheel alignment:
- lower control arm and lower ball joint
- upper control arm
- steering knuckle
- stabilizer bar
- radius rod
Some damages were hard to guess by visual inspection (e.g. steering knuckle and upper control arm), but I couldn't get the wheels aligned.

I was told the front frame (on which you bolt the lower control arm) can esaily be bent.
hope this helps

visionguru
12-16-2005, 07:06 PM
Steering problems can be caused by damaged suspension components: