PDA

View Full Version : Motor mount question

Tcoop1468
12-17-2005, 02:52 PM
I just bought 2 87 Accords, I was checking to see if the motor was locked up, I was turning the motor over by hand and noticed I could pick the motor up. Got to looking at it and noticed 2 bolts gone out of the mount that fits by the timing belt cover,and one nut off the mount down by the header. My question is..... Does the bracket coming off the motor by the timing cover suppose to be on top of the mount or on the bottom of the mount? Im new to the Honda scene so dont flame me to bad,lol.

DBMaster
12-17-2005, 05:07 PM
No flaming required. The motor mount goes ON TOP of the bracket on the engine.

Honda-Master
12-17-2005, 07:02 PM
why would u suspect motor was locked up ???? was car not starting?? not running ?? if it was,,,, then there is no reason to think that it was locked up .... Db is correct ,mount goes on top..look at the bracket carefully i have seen a few crack.. after car has been in frt end collision ,, loosen up the long bolt that goes through before you install the other 2 bolts it will make job easier

Tcoop1468
12-17-2005, 07:29 PM
why would u suspect motor was locked up ???? was car not starting?? not running ?? if it was,,,, then there is no reason to think that it was locked up .... Db is correct ,mount goes on top..look at the bracket carefully i have seen a few crack.. after car has been in frt end collision ,, loosen up the long bolt that goes through before you install the other 2 bolts it will make job easier

Both cars have been setting up for a year and the guy that had it had takin the carb off. He said it wont fire, he said it was running fine and one day he was coming home and it just died and wouldnt start back up. So I figured it might have been locked up due to not having a carb on it for so long. Its not locked up it turns over pretty easy.

Tcoop1468
12-17-2005, 07:38 PM