PDA

View Full Version : Motor mounts, Idle adjustment.

pmpddytim
01-01-2006, 08:22 AM
Newbie here. I just got a 87 Accord and have some questions. I used the search but didnt find what I was looking for.

1. My car vibrates when stopped at lights. I think I need some new motor mounts. How difficult are these to install? I've never had to replace mounts before, but I'm pretty handy.

2. The car also Idles a bit fast (around 1100 in drive faster in park) how do I go about adjusting the idle speed?

If I missed some threads that contain this information please point me in the right direction.

-Tim :)

bobafett
01-01-2006, 10:40 AM
i have never replaced the mounts either, but they are pretty self explanitory, if you do them one at a time, just support the engine a bit and unbolt, replace or fill with 3m window weld as you see fit, and slap them back in.

as for the idle, if its fuel injected, there is a screw on the throttle body that you can tighten to lower the idle. it should be located on the upper left corner of the throttle body if you are looking 'into it'

'89AccordLX(Rus)
01-01-2006, 01:48 PM
It would help to know if we are dealing with a carb or FI model here. Carburated models have an idle adjustment knob on the carb throttle linkage.

pmpddytim
01-01-2006, 03:35 PM
It would help to know if we are dealing with a carb or FI model here. Carburated models have an idle adjustment knob on the carb throttle linkage.

Ooops, sorry its a 2bbl.

Thanks for the responses so far!

-Tim

Honda-Master
01-01-2006, 03:51 PM
tell us if it is auto or 5 sp .. if it is auto tranny, there are a few more adjustment to make .....

pmpddytim
01-01-2006, 06:35 PM
tell us if it is auto or 5 sp .. if it is auto tranny, there are a few more adjustment to make .....

Auto. I wanted a 5 speed but I got a good deal on this one.