PDA

View Full Version : High pitch whistle ---HELP!----

spnrx
02-22-2006, 12:46 PM
Hey my gee has a new issue. It started yesterday when I was leaving from my new job @ Xbox Live. I started hearing a whistle come from my engine bay. What could it be? I know a good bit about cars but the one thing I'm still learning is troble shooting.

I'd rather not be stuck somewhere so please someone shed a light on my prob

Thanks
Spnr X

Cheeseburger
02-22-2006, 12:51 PM
oppss wrong thead sorry dude

spnrx
02-22-2006, 12:53 PM
oppss wrong thead sorry dude
Damnit no info! grrr LOL JK it's alright

3rdgenhatchDX
02-22-2006, 01:15 PM
guessing power steering belt... try pushing the gas a lil, does it get louder, scuse me higher(in pitch?)?

onliLX-i
02-22-2006, 01:20 PM
Does it sound electrical or mechanical? Is it louder if you listen under the hood or in the car.

spnrx
02-23-2006, 10:28 AM
guessing power steering belt... try pushing the gas a lil, does it get louder, scuse me higher(in pitch?)?
Yes the pitch gets higher when I rev it. And if it is th PS belt where is the damn thing?

racerx
02-23-2006, 11:52 AM
are you talking about a squeek like a belt slipping? in that case, check the belts on the driver's side of the engine.

the power steering pump is the top accessory on the front, driver's side of the engine.

check the tension. if it feels too loose, you can just adjust it. if it feels tight, then you either need to get some belt-slip-spray stuff. you can find it at the parts store, but it will only stop the problem for a few days at best. you'll need a new belt thereafter.

shepherd79
02-23-2006, 03:25 PM
1. if it is speed related, the faster you go the louder the whisle gets, you have bad front bearing (s).
2. If it is RPM related, the faster the engine the louder the noice. Check the belts. If belts are fine, check the water pump. Sometimes thebearing goes out and they start making whistling sounds.

i hope that helps.

3rdgenhatchDX
02-23-2006, 03:34 PM