PDA

View Full Version : Difficulty of auto tranny replacement

Clark
03-23-2006, 03:11 PM
My car is an auto and it is slowly (but surely) dying. I don't really want to pay to have a tranny shop replace it and, quite frankly, would like to learn more about my car by replacing the tranny myself. I plan on getting a shop manual like Haynes, Chiltons, etc. to help me through the process. I am no mechanic but know my way around an engine bay well and regularly service my car. With that in mind: How difficult would replacing the tranny be for me? Should I reconsider or go ahead? How much time should I need? Any special tools to buy before I start? I'd appreciate feedback from all but especially from those who have done a tranny replacement in something similar to my car. Thanks.

BITESIZE
03-23-2006, 04:16 PM
Do I hear 5 speed swap?!?!

shepherd79
03-24-2006, 05:54 AM
I am going to start by saying "WAY TO GO, SAY NO TO MECHANICS!!!!"
Since you said you know your way around the engine bay, i am going to say plan 2 days to do all that. This way you will take your time and you can actually learn.
Special tools: you may want to get a small prybar.
Little trick: when you ready to pull the tranny. remove the rear engine mount and let the engine slide down and back a little. (side mount and front mount will keep the car in place, but you still want to keep the jack under the engine just in case (make sure you use piece of wood or something between jack and oil pan.)) By having engine slide down and back you won't have problem with pulling tranny out.
OH, sometimes the axel nut will get tight. So always use antisease lube when you put all together.
Good luck.

86-accord-lxi
03-24-2006, 06:57 AM
I recently replaced the auto tranny in my 86 lxi with help from a friend, Both of us having never replaced a transmission in our lives. I have a manual based on a complete tear down and rebuild of the f4 automatic transmissions