PDA

View Full Version : O. K. to tow auto 89 LX?

sunderland
04-15-2006, 06:48 PM
Was wondering if anyone knows if it is safe to tow my 89 LX with an automatic trans. My dad would like to tow it behind his motorhome if it won't damage anything. Thanks for the help.

MessyHonda
04-15-2006, 06:56 PM
put it in neutral, everytime they tow my car...like 4 or 5 times in 18 years they always pick up the front end since the rear has nothing to worry about...hope it works

ghettogeddy
04-15-2006, 07:37 PM
ya just as long as the car is picked up from the front there shoud be no prob

mkymonkey
04-15-2006, 08:09 PM
dont put it in neutral! i tow for a living trust me! lol

if you put it in neutral the car will most likely roll off the lift if its not properly secured. plus if you pick it up from the front you will have no problem with the back since they spin freely. just make sure you dont have the ebrake on or else you will need new brakes and drums by the time you get to your destination. lol

have fun and be careful
-adrian

A20A1
04-15-2006, 09:31 PM
Yeah if you are letting it roll on two wheels, make sure it is the rear wheels. Lift up the front of the car.

Whistler225
04-15-2006, 09:40 PM
hrmmmm....most motorhomes tow cars with all four wheels on the ground, don't they? So what's the deal with towing in neutral? Is it because on an auto, neutral is actually a gear? I was told that I should warm up my car in neutral so the atf would warm up....

Cheeseburger
04-15-2006, 10:02 PM
don't put it in neutral! i tow for a living trust me! lol

if you put it in neutral the car will most likely roll off the lift if its not properly secured. plus if you pick it up from the front you will have no problem with the back since they spin freely. just make sure you dont have the ebrake on or else you will need new brakes and drums by the time you get to your destination. lol

have fun and be careful
-adrian

take the advice that this guy tells u. hes the master tower lol:cheers: