PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Leaking? Oil Filter?

TechnoGecko
05-16-2006, 05:25 PM
So I noticed a puddle under the car today, size of 4-5 quarters on the concrete. Threw the car up on jackstands and as far as I can see it looks like there is oil on and around the oil filter, as well as oil dripping from where the transmission meets the engine.

I tightened the oil filter, I guess Jiffy Lube didn't put it on tight enough, but the transmission leak worries me. I added perhaps 1/10th of a quart of oil to top it off and then it was full. Dropped it by the shop to have them look it over real quick, they've been more than fair to me in the fast. Said it looks like its leaking from the filter but they can't be sure since it's all over - and it is for sure leaking from the transmission. Told me they don't do transmission work there, so I'd have to take it elsewhere.

Really, really not happy at this point. I've never worked on transmissions before, and my interest in learning on this car in 100+ degree weather in the garage is slim. Anyone know what it would cost to have that seal replaced. Also, if you were going to do that then would it also be smart to replace the clutch?

Also, since the car dosent use typical transmission fluid, would it be safe to add transmission stop leak? I'm thinking the leak is big enough at this point that it wouldn't work anyway, but I guess it could be worth a shot. Whats really odd is it hasn't leaked a single drop in the year and a half I've had it, now all of a sudden it's just pouring out....

Any advice appreciated, as always.

paso100
05-16-2006, 05:48 PM
There's an oil filter base gasket (#10) that is a common culprit (was on my car, anyway!). If that's not it, it might be your cam seal or your oil pump seals. I was told by a Honda mechanic that the oil pump is usually fine and to just replace the gasket and o-rings. (#4, 11, 9). Oil filter base gasket is cheapest to replace.