PDA

View Full Version : Help with a Fuel Pump replacement

Mario Calero
05-22-2006, 07:29 AM
Last week my original Honda Fuel pump broke down ( according to a mechanic ) and I had it replace three days later but here in Nicaragua is extremely difficult and expensive to find another original Honda Fuel pump, the mechanic just installed a new one, but according to him, it was from a Mitsubishi car and it was fully compatible with my Honda ( Honda Accord LX 1987 Carbureted ), my doubt is : My original fuel pump was quiet all the time, no noise at all, now, with this new compatible fuel pump, a noticeable noise sounds all the time, not a big noise but I could say my motor is quitter than this fuel pump, I don't know why, it sounds all the time, the mechanic says that okay, it doesn't matter but I'm not happy with it, I love my quiet Honda, and now I have to listen to this pump all the time... unfortunately I'm extremely new to cars and if someone says this is normal, I don't have the backing to say No.

So this is my question: How many pounds of pressure does a compatible fuel pump should be able to make? My mechanic says this one makes 30 pounds (is it ok?) Is there any way I could see a diagram of my whole fuel system ( from Carburetor to the gas tank ) just to print out and check it out with another mechanic? I've had this car for about 15 months, my first car, I've always complain for low mileage, now I'm a little bit worried about gas consumption with this new fuel pump, I want to make sure everything is ok.

Could I see some pictures of how this fuel pump should be connected, installed, replaced? Maybe this noise comes from a bad installation routine.

Sorry for this kind of question, silly question, simple, but I really don't know, all I have as professional mechanical support is all the help I can get from 3geez.

Thank you guys.

Mario Calero
Managua, Nicaragua

Accordaone
05-22-2006, 11:08 AM