PDA

View Full Version : torn cv boot ! aggghh!

86-accord-lxi
06-30-2006, 12:33 AM
Well...Ever since I became the owner of my 86 lxi there has never been a belt
on the a/c compressor and the previous owner dissconnected the plug that
goes to the dryer ? (The thing by the power steering reservoir with the little
viewing glass) So, Today I decided to put on a new belt and see if the a/c
works since it's so blazing hot here. While I was under the car I discovered that the drivers side outer cv boot is torn and there's grease slung all over the back of the wheel. :wtf: Why, When, How ? This really pisses me off !
Im not even sure how long it's been like that, I haven't had to crawl under the car for awhile. I don't have the clicky turn thing going on and don't want to. What do I need to do in this situation ? What's it going to take to replace the cv boot ? I don't mean to sound like a noob, But this is my first time dealing with replacing a cv boot. Is it going to be expensive ? Can I use one
of my parts car ? Is there a difference between the 86 and 89 lxi's cv boots ?
I can't stand this, I need to fix it A.S.A.P !

mhopton
06-30-2006, 03:00 AM
Replace the whole axle - it comes with new boots on both the inner and outer joint. The axle costs about $60. Look in the "HOW TO" section for a good thread on how to do it - with pics. It's really not to hard, it'll take a couple of hours the first time.

speedpenguin
06-30-2006, 05:10 AM
Actually if it's the outer boot, it can be replaced, and without a huge amount of difficulty, depending on how much of a contortionist you are. However, be aware that tearing the boot has probably shortened the life of your CV joint. There's probably enough life left in it to make it worthwhile, though.

Just pick up a kit at AutoZone or something.

86-accord-lxi
06-30-2006, 12:42 PM
Are the axles on the 89 lxi's the same as an 86 lxi's ?
Would I be able to use the axle off my 89 lxi parts car ?

lostforawhile
06-30-2006, 01:03 PM