PDA

View Full Version : alarm question

dill21831
07-16-2006, 04:02 PM
I have a few questions on the alarm im going to install in my brothers 89 4door i think its an lx..........power everything.......i had a question regarding the door unlocking and locking system........i get its 2 wires.....i know its a negative pulse on my alarm installation guide it has unlocking NC, com, and NO.......the same options for locking......which one do i hook it up to....id assume the com but im not sure cause im new with alarms......everything else i understand......power and ground wires........i have a trigger + and - for the door which one do i hook up to that??, it comes with its own speaker.......another question i have is do i have to hook up the start engine wire, i would like not to..........basically all i want it to do is unlock and lock the doors, have the alarm go off when a door is opened, have the alarm go off when its struck very hard, the parking lights and speaker go off when the alarm goes off.......and thats it......if you guys could help me along id appreciate it

catalin
07-16-2006, 09:58 PM
Sounds like the alarm has built-in relays... Com, or common means the supply for the those built-in relays. Since we know that the locks are negative you'll have to connect a ground wire to this common input.
NC or Normally closed is at rest and should not be connected to anything. NO or Normanlly open means when relays is triggered (when alarm is armed or disarmed) this connection will provide what the common input is... meaning ground output. Connect this to the locking/unlocking wires in the vehicle.

Door triger in the Hondas is negative.. I believe it's a black/white wire to the right of the steering column. This wire will provide a ground when the door is opened. Connect it to the negative door trigger input to the alarm.