PDA

View Full Version : my amp died?

sofaking_bob
07-20-2006, 11:12 AM
I've got an xplod xm-ds1600p5 and it kinda just abruptly died. I know that It's installed properly as I've triple checked every single wire leading to it and they've all got right near 12 volts. Remote wire is fine and I've changed it twice, but anyway... What's going on is that when the car is turned on the amp comes on, but just for about a half-second, then it goes off. My self-proclaimed audio genius brother in-law says that he had one do the same thing and that it was drawing dc power and fried the internals... I'm not sure how plausable that it as I'm not an electrician, but before I go off and have this thing repaired or replaced, does anyone have a clue as to what might be wrong and/or how to fix it? I really enjoy this amp as it produces clean bass and has a remote bass controller directly from the amp.

crazykamper
07-20-2006, 12:36 PM
its a sony, lol. what u excpect.

2ndGenGuy
07-20-2006, 01:21 PM
I hope it's drawing DC power, because thats what your whole car runs on. If there's some AC power anywhere beyond the alternator, I think you're in trouble.

Anyways, it sounds blown to me, but it could just be your speaker. Does it do the same thing with the speaker unhooked? If you speaker is toast, then it will basically short out the speaker leads on your amp and it will go into protect mode.

If it does the same with the speaker unhooked, then yeah it is most likely blown.
Fuses are all ok?

conozo
07-20-2006, 01:30 PM
First just make sure your ground is good and secure.

Second if you have already tried it without the speaker hooked up and it still turns off try this.