PDA

View Full Version : rebuilding carb. (carb noob)

labeledsk8r
08-10-2006, 03:40 AM
allright well i am now to the point that i have located a smokeing problem that i had listed in another thread, i am going to replace all seals on the carb and thought i might as well rebuild the carb aswell to play things safe, but i need some quick info becuse my cash flow isnt the best right now.

1st what all gaskets are needed? is there a kit or something i can order online, or pick up localy? and price range

2nd whats the best way to get a carb rebuild money wise? my car cant have alot of down time considering i need it just about every day for work. does anyplace like napa or autozone do a core swap?

im still new to this carb stuff so yeah, im kinda limited on time and money, but mostly have to get the car ready to be able to drive almost acrose the US if it has 2 so any help would be great on a good recomendation to pick up these items, thanks

shepherd79
08-10-2006, 05:25 AM
here are answers:
1. yes, there are kits available at Advance auto or Autozone. The not that expensive $30-40.
2. The best way to do it is on weekend. Make sure you get a can of parts cleaner and carb leaner. After you take the carb out clean everything inside and out.
make sure you remember what you removed.

labeledsk8r
08-10-2006, 06:55 AM
allright, how easy is the rebuild?? this is my first carb ever even touching. autozone doesnt stock the carb anymore, atleast in my city, ima check a few other places to see if i can even do a core swap, if not ima be stuck to rebuild myself. so do these rebuild kits have good step by steps or should i just remember really well how it came apart and put it back looking exactly the same.. thanks

ghettogeddy
08-10-2006, 06:59 AM
there are little to no instrutions with the kit i bought one a while back but returned it due to needing money

labeledsk8r
08-10-2006, 07:15 AM
oh great... this should be fun...

2oodoor
08-10-2006, 08:19 AM