PDA

View Full Version : charging problem has me stumped

cruznthastrip
09-24-2006, 08:55 PM
I'm new to these imports, I've always worked on older(before 80's)RWD GM cars. But I found this 86 accord for $400 on a weekend trip after my daily driver broke down. It has 260,000 miles on it's 4cylinder/5speed, but it has tons of reciepts and lifetime warranties on it.
After about 3 days of driving it, the charge light came on. I kept driving it daily for about another 3 days and it died. The battery was dead and it seemed like the altenator wasn't charging it. I know the light was warning me about that. So I figured the altenator was bad, bought a new one and put it in, a very big pain. I brought the old one in it and it was tested to be good. But my charge light went out so I thought everything was good, but then 3 days later it died again(with no warning light)I went to the manual avalible from this part of the forum and tested all of the wiring with the new altenator in it. Al the wiring checked good right at the alt connection. One was always hot and 2 went hot(12v) only with the key only in the on position. And the bigger battery wire from the alt was also ok, but it was not putting out volts when running from the post on the alt. The warning light also tested to be ok and all points to the voltage regulator.
It seemed odd that a new alt/volt regulator would be bad, but that is the only thing that the tests point to. When I do the "field test" with the screwdriver in the back, it jumps up to putting out 17-19 volts.
Any ideas on what maybe wrong? It is stumping me and my other mechanic friends. I'll be calling a Honda Dealership in the morning, but I figure they're going to want a lot for something that I have already checked. Thanks and sorry for such a long post, Mike

accord upset
09-24-2006, 09:26 PM