PDA

View Full Version : installing engine

custom
10-09-2006, 09:34 AM
i wnt to replace my original engine because of the miles and low compression. well, i dont have a cherry picker and all i want to know is it still posible to take the engine out piece by piece. intake, head, tranamission etc. and place the new block with pistions, crank, etc. in the engine compartment that way? this is my first time replacing the engine.

MessyHonda
10-09-2006, 10:06 AM
i wnt to replace my original engine because of the miles and low compression. well, i dont have a cherry picker and all i want to know is it still posible to take the engine out piece by piece. intake, head, tranamission etc. and place the new block with pistions, crank, etc. in the engine compartment that way? this is my first time replacing the engine.

that would take too much time....see if you can borrow one from a mechanic or something.

military mase
10-09-2006, 10:40 AM
Yeah i would try barrowing or renting a cherry picker. To much of a hassle to do it piece by piece. One shot and your done. ... I see your from NC?? Where at?? I live in Fayetteville.

Hash_man_Se_i
10-09-2006, 11:05 AM
Ya definately rent or borrow a cherry picker, you'll only need it for one day. Just strip out all the other stuff before hand, and then get a cherry picker, and its super easy to do.

88Accord-DX
10-09-2006, 08:28 PM
Beleive it or not, if you remove enough off the engine with it jacked up high enough, it will come out the bottom. Need a floor jack to remove the tranny first, then lower the engine out. (haven't tried it, just know it can be done) Sure both can come out as an assembly.

Renting a cherry picker is the way to go. I seen guys on here buy them for close to a bill. I think Picopop just got one from Harbor freight for close to a bill, not sure what shipping is though.

newaccorddriver
10-09-2006, 08:41 PM