PDA

View Full Version : Query About Stage-One Vac Removal

bushbean
02-23-2007, 07:22 AM
Hi,

I'm looking to do the stage-One vacuum removal, and have a question about the removal of the charcoal cannister. If it is removed, won't fumes from the fuel tank come out even when the engine is shut off, thereby having a constant smell of gasoline around the car?

Thanks. More question to come.

A18A
02-23-2007, 07:27 AM
i was told to cap it, or you could do this:

http://www.3geez.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=4551
This is to have vapor venting from the gas tank via the firewall line... to the air box... the filter is added to allow air to be sucked in along with the fuel vapor, that way you don't get straight vapor which may cause you to run a tad rich.

bushbean
02-23-2007, 07:31 AM
I see the picture, but what keeps the vapor from venting all the time?

If you cap the vapor line, won't there be excessive pressure in the fuel tank?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm really new at this mysterious art of carburetion.

shepherd79
02-23-2007, 07:49 AM
our cars need pressure in fuel tank.
you can connect to air box and it will be OK.
I didn't do anything about it, i never connected to anything and the car never smelled like gasoline.

A20A1
02-23-2007, 08:39 AM
Me either I've left the port uncapped and there was no smell, I only capped it and hooked it up with a filter to at least have something to direct the fumes where it could be used.

The fuel vapor will have an easier time going to the carb air box then it will have leaking out that small air filter.

Also it's not like there is a big pressure difference that will cause the gas vapor to be pushed or sucked out of the filter and into your engine bay.

bushbean
02-23-2007, 09:55 AM
Another query: if I do a stage One vac removal, how much worse will the MPG be?

I know gasoline is cheap right now, but the oil mafia is ready to price grouge consumer as soon as they find another excuse.

2oodoor
02-23-2007, 10:05 AM