PDA

View Full Version : PROJECT , TURBO ( SITE )

Site
09-08-2002, 05:10 AM
I want to plan a blow-through boost setup for my 40 DCOEs (once the suckers are in - having the intake made now). From what I understand, DCOEs are sealed and can take moderate boost. I also have some pics of a "turbo hat" made for DCOEs (See Pic Below). Most who boost DCOEs do it with one 45mm carb, not twin 40s. I want to do it with twin 40s. I'm new with this, but I have time and $ to put toward it.

Things I wanna think through - supercharger or turbocharger? (Remember, the sidedrafts open toward the windshield.)
Fuel management - no Funstick, I don't want EFI :) .
Exhaust considerations - what size piping, etc.
Compression - new pistons, Wiseco, JE, etc.
Cam regrind specs.
Consider that I will want to put in nitrous (fogger-type).

You won't be wasting your time helping me think through this. This is something I plan to carry through with. Thanks!

Site
09-08-2002, 05:12 AM
Another pic of the turbo hat:

Site
09-08-2002, 05:13 AM
And another:

Sean
09-08-2002, 06:34 AM
i thnk youve got a long road ahead of you for sure. manageing the fuel is gonne be tough but spark it another issue. i got some help for that.

Site
09-08-2002, 06:44 AM
A long term process for this is okay for me. I'm in no rush, but I am determined to do it. In you opinion, is this do-able, funstick?

Sean
09-08-2002, 12:59 PM
yeah but yr gonnaneed to manage the spark

Site
09-09-2002, 05:59 AM
After some reading, seems like I'm gonna need to build a box around the carbs. This seems like best route to take. My carbs have plastic floats, so I'll either need to get brass floats or maybe fill mine with foam to keep them from being crushed.