PDA

View Full Version : Car Idles at 2-3k RPM

vipspiffy
04-07-2007, 04:16 PM
Hello,

I recently bought a 81 Accord 5spd (California Car), and am having trouble with it idling. The car failed smog due to "ignition timing check due to rpm being out of tolerance." But the emission levels passed.

Car has trouble starting, i have to play with the throttle to get it idling otherwise it will just stall. When it does stay idling, the rpm jumps up and down around the 2-3000 range.

Not sure if this has to deal with it, but the car almost overheat when i brought it home going up a hill.

Not sure if this is a problem with the distributor, carb, or something else. I just got my shop manual, so that could help explain any of the technical words you guys get into.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. :cool:

2ndGenGuy
04-08-2007, 01:08 AM
I'm still a carb noob myself. But my guess would be check for a vacuum leak... I'm sure someone will chime in with a better answer here.

offthahook
04-08-2007, 10:25 AM
I would guess it is a carb. issue and some kind of vacuum leak "somehwere" as well. Don't go just pulling lines and hoses off, though. These cars are finicky with their fuel mixture/delivery and they will not run well if something is even a little bit off. Being a Cali. car sounds like it might have a few more emissions toys than the regular Accords. I hope your manual is silver and says 1981 on the front; they have the KL (California) specific stuff.

vipspiffy
04-08-2007, 03:52 PM
Yes, it is a silver 1981 service manual.

I got the rpm to stop jumping around. When warm it still stays at 2600 though.

What i did was use some better Breeze hose clamps on breather hose A and plugged off the top hose that connects to the Anti-Afterburn valve because i couldn't get it to fit. Why is this hose connection bigger on the Anti-Afterburn valve and gets smaller where it connects at that little piece where 6 hoses connects to?