PDA

View Full Version : Brake pulsate... I'm stumped!

sunofogun
06-05-2007, 01:37 PM
Okay guys, so like a month ago my steering wheel started pulsating when I was braking like a month ago, so I figured I should cut them or replace them soon. Well, I work in a shop so I replaced the front pads and did the shoes and drums in the back about two weeks ago. I was going to cut the rotors later when my boss wasnt at work :) Well on my test drive, the pulsation was still there and a little more severe than before. Two days ago I put new rotors on, thinking it would fix the problem, it made no change whatsoever! Im pissed! haha My rims are not bent and I just put the tires on maybe 6 months ago. I shook down the front end and its all good. I don't think its the bearings because there is never a sound from my wheels. Could the calipers be hanging up in the piston area?:gun: Also, about every other time I do a drum brake job, the drums end up making this clunking noise as they slow down to a stop. I usually clean the drums with solvent and sand down all the surfaces and it goes away. Well, thats not doin the trick on my car! What the heck is going on? :wtf:

sunofogun
06-06-2007, 02:29 PM
Okay here's an update: Today I took all the tires off and notice some weird movement on the balance machine. I put 4 new tires on and theyre still acting weird. The rims dont look bent, maybe they do have some lateral runout though. I also noticed my front upper ball joints have some play. They dont make any noises yet or really affect the steering. I doubt that they are causing the brake shudder, they primarily would affect my steering and handling on a regular basis.

Oldblueaccord
06-06-2007, 02:58 PM
Well there several threads about brakes just on this page review them when you can.

I think any loose part will make a shudder when you brake. Make sure the upper arms bolts to the body are tight as well.