PDA

View Full Version : what to do ?

86-accord-lxi
06-14-2007, 09:51 AM
I have an 89 lxi. It's a daily driver, but I want to give it some extra "pep"
Without sacrificing gas mileage. Where do I start ? What should I do first ?
I may be getting an 89 lxi 5 speed coupe that's been fully restored,
The same question goes for it. If I get the coupe, I may leave the sedan
stock. I'm a little new with the tuner stuff. Forgive me for sounding like a newb. A lot of you on here sound experienced and sound like you know what you're doing. I don't want to go throwing on a cold air intake and exhuast that actually end up making the car lose performance, etc... I need to know where to start first . I want to slightly modify and "tune" the car to allow for
maximum performance and efficiency.

2oodoor
06-14-2007, 10:18 AM
you aint no noob!!

CAI would help your Lxi, they just dont help as much on d-series civics, if you heard CAI do not do that much.

a good tune up, NGK plugs, check that distributor advance systems are all working, vacuum and mechancal..after that set the timing about 2 degrees more than spec tells if you have some miles on the motor. Do not advance it to where it pings under load though.
4 wheel alignment, lose some weight in the car, like things in the trunk you dont need in there. etc..correct tire pressure..
other wise unless you go big, the same of stuff you find all over the site, catback exhaust, If your automatic, that probably needs some fine adjustment for shift points, whole other subject there...

LiTtLe xOx BitT
06-14-2007, 01:12 PM
I/H/E and a camgear.

guaynabo89
06-14-2007, 03:56 PM
the normal bolt ons will actually make the car lose a little bit of its torque, but will make up in the top end.

Manufacturers claim increased gas milage for the simple bolt ons like header catback and cold air intake.