PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Clutch Question

1989se-i
09-11-2002, 07:43 PM
Im new to this whole clutch thing and im thinking of doing an auto-manual conversion.... Really the only things i dont know are:
wtf is a fly wheel? Does my auto have one? is it in the tranny? im very confused...
well i guess that was it, heh

smufguy
09-11-2002, 08:01 PM
auto trannies do not have a fly wheel, but they have something similar to it (i dont know the specific name of it) but does not go by the name flywheel

if ur gonna do an auto to a manual, u need the following parts

1) 5psd pedal assembly from the same car as yours

2) 5spd tranny (which u obviously have it by then)

3) clutch cable from the car u took the tranny out

4) engine bay harness for the reverse lights cause the manual tranny has a wire from it for the reverse lights

5) engine bay wire harness cause you need to have a sensor for the clutch pedal to make the car start up (manual cars startup only if the clutch is depressed)

6) 5spd shift linkage and shifter

7) guage cluster (unless u want the gear selector from ur auto to be there)

u might be able to bypass the reverse lights and the clutch sensor, but i dont know that for sure cause i have not done that cause i have a 5spd.

1989se-i
09-11-2002, 08:08 PM
This manual stuff is mind blowing. Im very confused. Ill read up on it tonite, and if i have any stupid questions, ill ask ya. :p

smufguy
09-11-2002, 08:40 PM
none of ur questions are stupid bro.

YK86
09-11-2002, 09:58 PM
You don't need the harness ( you just tap into the proper auto wires) and you don't need to wire the clutch sensor (autos start without it anyways). I just updated the how-to so I hope this will help answer your questions in more detail. If you have more q's, e-mail me any time!

1989se-i
09-12-2002, 04:22 AM
I almost got it. I just need some help with terminology, wo what are these things:

Clutch
Differential
Linkage
Pressure Plate

Thanks alot dudes

Immeraufdemhund