PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust Calculator .EXE file v 1.31

A20A1
06-29-2007, 03:48 PM
Well I've been trying to work out a way to size exhaust pipe using a lot more than previous formulas I've found.
Goals;
Allow the user to find:
- Optimal Velocity of 240-260 FPS
- Optimal CFM for a given RPM and Engine Displacement as well as estimated
horsepower.
- Optimal Pipe Diamter
Inputs will be
- RPM
- C/R
- CID
- Estimated hp
- Dual or single exhaust
The trouble I've had is getting combustion temps and exhaust temps and including the cylinder volumes and pipe volumes and what not.
It's all so inter-dependant... I had a working version 1.0 and it didn't seem enough, and certainly didn't seem to add up, even if it came close.
I need the rest of the values as a means of double checking the work.
Oh and I'm just learning C++, I got the dummies book and I'm on the first project where you convert celsius to fahrenheit, from there I built my code.

A20A1
06-29-2007, 03:54 PM
I found this site if it helps... I haven't finished going over it but it looks like it has what I need to complete my program.
http://www.arielcorp.com/ariel.asp?id=465
More old rules of thumb or calculations from the tool box:
1) Increase pipe diameter of OEM exhaust by 1/4" to 1/2"
2)CID = N x 0.7854 x bore x bore x stroke (all in inches)
3)(CFM = CID x RPM x VE ÷ 3456)
cid * max rpm * volumetric efficiency/3456
119 cid
Okay
for v 1.3 below enter the values here:
119 is our CID
1.75 is the stock Exhaust diameter
the rest is up to you
RPM
and
Estimated HP.

v 1.30
This allows you to use it for any car/engine.
It gets rid of the preset values I added for the accord and allows you to enter those values yourself.
Had to fix some computational errors... don't forget your "()" kids :)

forrest89sei
06-29-2007, 11:10 PM
Great job!

cool tool :D

2ndGenGuy
06-29-2007, 11:35 PM