PDA

View Full Version : engine problems.....!!! (what should i do?)

nomocars23
09-17-2007, 08:26 PM
ok first of all when starting my car after it has sat for a day or two the car has problems .... even when i pump the peddle once or twice..... then the rpms are either very high up around 2300 or very low around 800 ... WUTS UP WITH THAT?
also i smell a rotten egg/gas smell after driving on the highway or driving for long periods of time ( longer than 10 mins....) ive checked for leaks and i cant find anything...
Lastly i have occasional run ons after i turn the car off = the smell again.
i checked with the local JiffyLube and they say i need a "Fuel System Cleaning"(http://jiffylube.com/autoservices/fuelsystemservices.aspx)

What should i do?

Hoy_LDT
09-17-2007, 10:21 PM
you gotta have something stuck in the inlet of intake? only way the car would fluctuate rpm like that or its either something is in your gasoline that died? maybe a prank...?because im a aircraft mechanic and the only way we get fluctuattions on jets is either something in the inlet...maybe a bird...or something in the fuel....

fuel lines clogged then when u force it it goes threw...then pistons burn gas and stuff in it and makes nasty smell...then it gets clogged again process keeps going...maybe you do need to flush your system...ahaha thats my 2cents...sorry if i confused you

Oldblueaccord
09-18-2007, 01:03 AM
Rotten eggs is the cat is prolly plugged. Usually this is from the car running to rich or you have your foot to the floor for about 5 mins. straight.

Assuming your car is Fuel injected I would look and see if you have a code in the ECU (EFI section sticky) and do a tune up plugs,wires,cap ,rotor and fuel filter air cleaner just to start.

Our cars are known for not so good idle but yours does not sound correct.

wp

ghettogeddy
09-18-2007, 01:05 AM