PDA

View Full Version : Endurance racing a 3G

billyballer
09-26-2007, 08:05 AM
Hey all,
I'm a newbie here, although not to cars in general. I've been working at a restoration shop for the last 6 years (Alfa Romeo), and currently work for a Mitsubishi tuner as both a tech and a PR writer.

I'm running in the 24 hours of LeMons, an endurance race for cars purchased and prepped for under $500, and my entry for this October's race is an 86 accord LX 5 speed. It will be a shark themed car. This is my third time running the event, and I'm really looking forward to prepping the Accord for the event. It's already gutted, and I'm getting ready to install a race seat and a full cage. I'm also working on some armor for vulnerable areas (radiator etc...)

I would love any help you guys have on cheap suspension setups, and cheap tricks to get a little more juice out of the carb setup. I only have $500 to spend, the car was free, but I spent $100 replacing a damaged right front suspension. $400 to go.

So thats my deal.
Glad to be here

-Bill

A18A
09-26-2007, 08:08 AM
oh cool, welcome to the forum, please post pics if you can :) does the engine already run good? cause those carbs can be a real pain when they dont wanna work right

carotman
09-27-2007, 01:56 AM
hmmm, you might want to convert to mecanical secondary and remove those vacuum lines.

I know that the 4th gen Accord or Vigor sway bars work in the rear. That should be a cheap upgrade.

billyballer
09-27-2007, 03:16 PM
Yeah, I was planning on doing the sway bar upgrade, and contemplating de-vacuumizing the carb. Although the mechanical secondary conversion looks a bit complicated, and the sticking open problem doesn't sound too inviting.
Have you done the conversion before, and is it difficult?

Other than some crack vacuum lines the car runs pretty good. hopefully I'll be able to post some pictures soon.

-Bill

labeledsk8r
09-27-2007, 03:33 PM