PDA

View Full Version : I just come up with this, while I was bored

gr3k0sLaV
05-08-2002, 05:56 AM
EVVT : Electronic Variable Valve Timing

Now I dont know if this has been thought of yep, I seriously think it has though. I was bored at lame but well paying telemarketing job, when I started thinking about cars and engines. And I thought, well why not completely re do the valve timing.

Now take note, I am vERY VERY new to cars. What I know, I have learnt pretty quickly in about 3 months. When I started out, I didn't even know how a turbo worked or what the cam did.

Now lets look at the A20 , it has 12 valves, 2 for intake, 1 for exhaust for each cylinder. And as we all should know, the camshaft turns, which pushes the valves, opening, closing, etc, etc. The timing of the camshaft is controlled by the timing belt which it linked to the crankshaft (am I right?)

Now my EVVT design would involve scrapping the cam, and having each individual valve controlled by electric motors, which would be controlled by the onboard computer. The computer would use sensors to detect timing, which would obviously be used to set the vales, opening and closing them. The computer would have sensors which would monitor air, fuel ratios, speeds, compression, ignition sparks...and would use all this data to have control over valve timing. The ignition systems and all would all be linked into one unified engine control unit.

Now with this system, you can have much tighter and finer control of all engine related matters. And all that.

However problems with this system that I could see, is that more can go wrong. Reliability of individual motors can play a role. If the computer suffers a fault, it could result in catrasrophe with your valves and pistons colliding.

dosh8er
05-08-2002, 06:17 AM