PDA

View Full Version : Wiring Directly to the Battery

s_EX_i
10-14-2007, 02:54 PM
Hey guys just got a quick question. Iv got a led scanner i recently picked up ( even though I dont have an alarm system) I want to connect it directly to the battery with a simple on off switch and an inline fuse. My question is, what specific inline fuse do i use ( I have no knowledge about fuses), what guage wire should I use. Im assuming 22 guage is good enough for leds. PS i dont want to tap into an existing wire since Im not too comfortable doing that, but still want a do-it myself project hehe.

Help appreciated, thanks guys!

forrest89sei
10-14-2007, 02:55 PM
Hey guys just got a quick question. Iv got a led scanner i recently picked up ( even though I dont have an alarm system) I want to connect it directly to the battery with a simple on off switch and an inline fuse. My question is, what specific inline fuse do i use ( I have no knowledge about fuses), what guage wire should I use. Im assuming 22 guage is good enough for leds. '

Help appreciated, thanks guys!

I think a 15 Amp Blade Type will do you fine along with 22-18 Gauge Wire

s_EX_i
10-14-2007, 02:57 PM
Heheh, awesome thanks for the quick reply!
And should I use aligator clips to connect the wires to the batt terminals or should i just screw them into the existing clamp?

forrest89sei
10-14-2007, 03:03 PM
Heheh, awesome thanks for the quick reply!
And should I use aligator clips to connect the wires to the batt terminals or should i just screw them into the existing clamp?

Just use Screw then into the clamp, they have connectors that are like a washer, so you just undo one of the retaining bolts on the cable, slide it on, and your done.

I'm pretty sure you hook the + directly to the battery and the - to the body

s_EX_i
10-14-2007, 03:11 PM