PDA

View Full Version : Where to buy OEM parts

King Peetis
11-01-2007, 02:24 PM
I am a previous owner (20 years ago) of an 86 LXI hatch and I just picked up an 88 LXI hatch last week. I want to rebuild it but don’t want to pay the ridiculous prices for parts that Honda wants. Do any of you guys have recommendations for parts suppliers?

By the way Im a newbie and Im open to ANY suggestions too.

MessyHonda
11-01-2007, 03:01 PM
depends on what parts your looking for but like majestichonda.com comes to mind ...i be there are like 3-4 more sites like that were all they sale is OEM parts for half the price.

2drSE-i
11-01-2007, 07:18 PM
majestic is cool but they charge an assload for shipping....but really they all do. www.hondaautomotiveparts.com

2oodoor
11-02-2007, 02:23 AM
scrap yards are the number one resource for parts

w261w261
11-02-2007, 03:23 AM
Majestic Honda is a Honda dealer in RI. They sell at 25% off Honda list prices, and charge a reasonable amount for shipping. However, they also have a one-time fee per order of a few dollars.

To me, paying more for a Honda brand part is well worth the peace of mind that comes with knowing the labor in the job won't be flushed or repeated too soon because the part failed. If you look at what's been happening with stuff made in China recently, you have to know the same situation exists with auto parts. The resellers are squeezing the manufacturers for every last penny of cuts, and those cuts are coming right out of the quality of what you buy. The materials are suspect, the tolerances can be bad, and generally it's much more of a crap shoot than buying from Honda itself. Admittedly, some Honda brand parts are just to the moon (new distributor: $600+) but I think generally you get what you pay for.