PDA

View Full Version : Help performance b20a help needed

nzBA1lude
11-17-2007, 03:27 AM
Hey guys
a couple of quick questions
i live in new zealand and have a japanese import genuine 1986 BA1 prelude
i have been racing this as a club car for the last 6 months until i drove it into a concrete wall in the rain

while im waiting for a rebody i though i would sort out the power plant
1. the engine is original to the car (serial number matchs firewall plate) but it had a black rocker cover ,has this been replaced or repainted because i was told 2nd gen preludes only came out with a goldtop

2. What is an EGR

3. if my engine is an black top what can i change to get the gold top power gain (i have already made a full 2 1/4" exhaust including stainless headers)

4. i am planing on installing ITBs has anybody seen this done and any ideas how to get around the map sensor side of the intake

5. what exactually are the ecu code of the black and gold top b20a

6. one last thought is will b18a cam gears fit onto my cams and are they the right diameter for the belt , i cant find any adjustable cam gears for a b20a but can get some for a b18a real cheap

any other thought on performance upgrades i can do

sorry if this is long but its my first post so im sure they will get shorter and to the point any help is greatly appreciated

AccordB20A
11-18-2007, 03:26 PM
Hey guys
a couple of quick questions
i live in new zealand and have a japanese import genuine 1986 BA1 prelude
i have been racing this as a club car for the last 6 months until i drove it into a concrete wall in the rain

while im waiting for a rebody i though i would sort out the power plant
1. the engine is original to the car (serial number matchs firewall plate) but it had a black rocker cover ,has this been replaced or repainted because i was told 2nd gen preludes only came out with a goldtop

2. What is an EGR