PDA

View Full Version : Front Tilt Engine vs Rear Tilt Engine

3gaccord86
09-18-2002, 04:36 PM
i am new to the hondas and to the import world. i noticed that my car which is a 86 accord hatchback with 2.0 carb engine, the engine is tilting foward toward the radiator support, on newer hondas the engine is tilting back toward the fire wall . question is: can you use a rear tilt engine in this car? i realize that i may have to make new mounts and what ever comes up .

thanks guys for your input!

3gaccord86
09-18-2002, 04:51 PM
some hondas have the engine tilting toward the front of the car like my 86 accord 2.0 with carb . some hondas have the engine tilting toward the rear . can the two engines be swaped? why does honda do this? i am new to the honda/import world so iam trying to understand these cars and the way they work.

thanks for your info guys!!

Dutchboy
09-18-2002, 10:25 PM
i think that it has soething to do with the way the engine spins. as in which direction the actual motor turns..
..the reverse tilt will probably have the exhaust in the rear and the front in the front...
ummm...im not sure of anything else but since theres been no response i thought id say what i think I know at least...
:huh:
Ben

chiller670
09-19-2002, 09:51 PM
all i know is that the old prelude engine work with our cars.

YK86
09-19-2002, 10:38 PM
If you can get the proper mounts, you can make anything fit but it's a matter of how much you have to spend. The 3rd gen Lude tilts back but it spins the same way as the Accord's forward tilting motor. Don't really know why they made it tilt different though.

night
09-19-2002, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by YK86
Don't really know why they made it tilt different though.

hood lines. lets the car be much 'sleeker'. the 3gen lude is the biggest example. compare it vs the 2gen

smufguy
09-20-2002, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by Dutchboy