PDA

View Full Version : box build design, need help from the pros

mykwikcoupe
01-18-2008, 10:18 PM
Ok so I was browsing JL Audios website again and figured id be a good time tostart planning my sub install. Id like to use 2 of the 10W7 bescause I can use my 1000/1 and it saves on total costs. Now on there site they list a slot port design and that what Id like to build.

Im imagining the subs facing forwards tight to the back seat and the slots for each box in the middle looking kind of like there slot port power wedge design. Now I used to be a carpenter so i can build anything from wood and Ive built my own basic boxes for years, never anything like a slot port though.

Jl s site lists every possible size for my box but leaves out bracing. Im guessing a box nearly 2 feet deep has more baces than they show in there box specs.

If I wanted to do something stupid like modify the size spec to use more room height or width wise to better suit the accord trun volume, how would this change all other design characteristics?

Im wondering if I should just take 2 of there box designs, mate them in the middle and call it good or try to matters into my own hands. It seems as though some mods in this forum work in the audio field and Id like there thoughts. Thansk Mike

89T
01-19-2008, 06:36 AM
additional bracing shouldn't be required,as long as you use a min of 3/4" mdf or particle board(depending on you're budget), use a good stout wood glue. as for volume goes try and pick a box with the characteristics you are looking for. changing volume changes the tunning freq of the box. in tis case changing the volume will also change the tunning freq of the vents also.

there is a way to get what you are looking for though.
for simplicity's sake, the box volume is 1 cubic ft. their dimensions are 12"x12"x12"
12x12x12=1728 cubic inches
1728 / 1728=1 cubic ft

or another example 2cubic ft
12"x12"x24"
12x12x24=3456 cubic inches
3456 / 1728=2 cubic ft

lets build the 1 cubic ft box.