PDA

View Full Version : Installing Speedometer Cable

nfs480
02-13-2008, 06:04 PM
How complicated is it to install a speedometer cable. I'm a beginner to auto work and my speedometer twitches at higher speeds and I hear a clicking noise coming from under the dash. The cruise doesn't always work either. If someone has replaced their speedo cable could you please give me a brief summary of what all is involved? Thanks!

BITESIZE
02-13-2008, 10:42 PM
It's pretty easy, just takes a little time and coaxing.

BITESIZE
02-14-2008, 01:51 PM
Theres a little clip hooking it to the transmission. Pull the clip out. Don't lose the clip. Pull the cable from the transmission. Snake it through the firewall. Unmount it from the back of your guage cluster. Like I said, it's easy just takes some time and alot of jack and coke. lol

nfs480
02-14-2008, 04:21 PM
Theres a little clip hooking it to the transmission. Pull the clip out. Don't lose the clip. Pull the cable from the transmission. Snake it through the firewall. Unmount it from the back of your guage cluster. Like I said, it's easy just takes some time and alot of jack and coke. lol

Sweet, doesn't sound too bad. Now I just need some decent weather.

BITESIZE
02-14-2008, 04:47 PM
I need to replace my speedo cable too. The cable is in two pieces now.

nfs480
02-14-2008, 05:41 PM

How'd that happen? Can it just wear out and snap?

Dr_Snooz
02-14-2008, 05:58 PM
Not enough grease.

lgoldtop
02-16-2008, 09:15 PM
yeah be careful after you pull it out not to get dirt into the tranny and DONT LOSE THE BOLTS!!! lol

mavric240
06-26-2008, 05:28 AM
Does anyone have pictures of how the the cable is changed at the dashboard end. Can't find anything in any of the manuals.

lostforawhile
06-26-2008, 05:47 AM
Does anyone have pictures of how the the cable is changed at the dashboard end. Can't find anything in any of the manuals.